Lip Balms and Lotion

Lately I have seen a lot of “make your own lotion” and “refill your EOS lip balm” pins on Pinterest. A lot of these pins show simple recipes using natural ingredients, which I’ve recently been into. Most of the ingredients you can find at Walmart or already in your pantry. My EOS balm is a lifesaver during the winter months and as colder weather approaches I might need a few backups.

After looking further into the recipes, I noticed the lip balm and the lotion use a lot of the same ingredients. I decided to try both.

For the lip balm I used:

  • 2 TBS of shea butter, $8
  • 1 TBS of coconut oil, $6.64
  • 1/2 TBS of almond oil, $5.97
  • 1/2 TBS of vitamin E, $6.88
  • and few drops of grapefruit essential oil, $5.25
7281505084_8f33fc5e94_o
Photo taken by girlwparasol

There are a lot of different recipes you can try and you can swap ingredients. For instance, some recipes called for beeswax or Vaseline and you can use olive oil instead of almond oil. You can mix and match whatever you’d like. It’s really all a trial and error experiment, but personally I wouldn’t want to use Vaseline…

I put the ingredients into a microwaveable bowl and put it in the microwave for a minute and 30 seconds. I found some contact cases to pour my newly made lip balms into, along with my EOS lip balm container, you can watch how to open the EOS container here.

Making sure that everything was completely melted, I carefully poured the mixture into the cases. I wanted to add some color to the lip balms. A lot of the tutorials have used crayons to add color so I held a lighter to a crayon letting some of the wax drip into the container. I mixed it together with a toothpick, then I popped them all into the freezer to cool down for about an hour.

I repeated the entire process three times, made 10 different lip balms and there was still plenty of left over ingredients for more and the lotion.

For the lotion I used:

  • 1/2 cup of shea butter
  • 1/2 cocoa butter, $6.67
  • 1/2 cup of coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup of almond oil
  • a couple drops of vitamin E
  • and about 10 drops of essential oil
8512264768_ecf8f61d3d_o
Photo taken by Carnivore Locavore

I put the ingredients into a mixing bowl, solid not melted this time, and mixed until it became fluffy. Then I poured it into my container and placed it in the freezer to set. If your house is 75 degrees or above the lip balm and lotion will soften. If this happens just pop it back into the freezer.

Since I already had shea butter and coconut oil, I spent a total of $24.77 for this DIY. I shared the ingredients with the lotion, so in theory, I spent a total of $9.05 on lip balm’s ingredients. I made 10 lip balms, making each one cost about $1. Cocoa butter was the only thing I bought specifically for the lotion. I spent a total of $15.72 on the lotion. I made three 5 ounce containers of lotion, making each one cost about $5. And after all of that, I still had some ingredients left for more future DIY projects.

I really enjoyed this DIY. It was affordable and the ingredients were all natural. I liked the balms, but if I were to make it again I would not use coconut oil and I would try a different way of adding color rather than using a crayon. I liked the lotion the best, but it was a little oilier than what I typically like. If I were to make the lotion again I would probably adjust the ratios of the ingredients and not use coconut oil.

If you wondering why I would nix the coconut oil in both recipes, it’s because coconut oil is a little too oily for my preference. It also can block pores and increase break outs.

If you’re bored and have some empty EOS balms laying around try this DIY project out! Play with ratios, different ingredients and essential oils. You might discover the perfect lotion! And with the holidays coming up, it’s a cheap gift idea too.

 

Leave a Reply

